CMS helping physicians when you need help

The Colorado Medical Society led the charge against a flawed and dangerous bill that would have drastically expanded the scope of practice of physician assistants. On Tuesday, March 15, the Colorado House of Representatives rejected House Bill 22-1095: Physician Assistant Collaboration Requirements.

After it passed out of House committee on Feb. 23 on a vote of 10-1 in support of the bill, it was considered a "done deal" by some. With the odds against us, CMS and the House of Medicine stepped into action to educate lawmakers on the consequences of passing the bill. Most important, Colorado physicians stepped up to call their representatives to share personal stories of excellent collaboration in a team setting, as well as concerns with the bill.

In an interview with Colorado Public Radio, the bill's sponsor placed the "blame" for killing the bill squarely on the Colorado Medical Society for standing up for physicians and their practices.

We don't dispute this fact; CMS will always have physicians' backs at the Capitol. 

"Since the beginning of this debate, CMS and our House of Medicine partners worked tirelessly to convey the importance of PAs in the physician-led health care team," said CMS President Mark Johnson, MD, MPH, in a statement. "Expanding their scope of practice to be completely independent of physicians is not in line with PA training or the needs of Colorado patients. We acknowledge that there are ways to improve collaboration so physician assistants can work to the top of their training, and we are ready to join other interested parties at the table to find these improvements."

Johnson pledged to continue to work with interested parties on solutions to improve patient access and Colorado's health care workforce.

CMS thanks the members of House of Representatives who voted "no" on the bill, listed below. Once again, we ask physician members to pick up the phone -- this time to thank the legislators who supported us on this bill. Find out who represents you here.

Judy Amabile; 303-866-2578; District 13

Jennifer Bacon; 303-866-2909; District 7

Mark Baisley;  303-866-2935; District 39

Adrienne Benavidez; 303-866-2964; District 32

Shannon Bird; 303-866-2843; District 35

Andrew Boesenecker; 303-866-2917; District 53

Mary Bradfield; 303-866-2946; District 21

Yadira Caraveo, MD; 303-866-2918; District 31

Terri Carver; 303-866-2191; District 20

Lindsey Daugherty; 303-866-2950; District 29

Daneya Esgar; 303-866-2968; District 46

Tony Exum; 303-866-3069; District 17

Tim Geitner; 303-866-2924; District 19

Leslie Herod; 303-866-2959; District 8

Iman Jodeh; 303-866-2919; District 41

Cathy Kipp; 303-866-4569; District 52

Colin Larson; 303-866-2927; District 22

Mike Lynch; 303-866-2907; District 49

Hugh McKean; 303-866-2947; District 51

Kyle Mullica; 303-866-2931; District 34

David Ortiz; 303-866-2953; District 38

Andres Pico; 303-866-2937; District 16

Janice Rich; 303-866-3068; District 55

Naquetta Ricks; 303-866-2944; District 40

Dylan Roberts; 303-866-2923; District 26

Marc Snyder; 303-866-2932; District 18

Matt Soper; 303-866-2583; District 54

Tom Sullivan; 303-866-5510; District 37

Kerry Tipper; 303-866-2939; District 28

Alex Valdez; 303-866-2925; District 5

Donald Valdez; 303-866-2916; District 62

Tonya Van Beber; 303-866-2943; District 48

Kevin Van Winkle; 303-866-2936; District 43

Dan Woog; 303-866-2906; District 63

Mary Young; 303-866-2929; District 50

Categories: Communications, Legislative Updates