Thank you to all the members who voted during the 2019 Colorado Medical Society leadership election. Thanks, also, to the physician-candidates for stepping up as leaders in the society.

Sami Diab, MD, a Denver oncologist, was elected CMS president-elect and will be inaugurated in fall 2020.

Re-elected to the Colorado delegation to the American Medical Association were: David Downs, MD, FACP; Carolynn Francavilla Brown, MD; Jan Kief, MD; Rachelle Klammer, MD; Tamaan Osbourne-Roberts, MD; Lynn Parry, MSc, MD; Brigitta Robinson, MD, FACS; and Michael Volz, MD.

Congratulations to these CMS leaders.

The nomination period for the 2020 CMS election is now open through Jan. 31, 2020. The Colorado Medical Society asks all members to consider nominating a colleague or self-nominating for one of the open leadership positions: President-elect (one position open) or AMA Delegation (two positions open).

The election guide, available on, provides important information on the duties, eligibility, terms of office and honorarium for each open position, as well as candidate requirements, campaign guidelines, election process and more. Potential nominees can review the position descriptions and qualifications for office starting on page three of the election guide and the candidate requirements on page five of the election guide. Please email if you have any questions about becoming a CMS physician leader.

Categories: Communications, Colorado Medicine, ASAP