For the third year in a row, the Colorado General Assembly will convene an interim study committee on opioid and other substance abuse disorders. The 2019 Legislative Study Committee on Opioids and Other Substance Use Disorders, as in the past, will be bipartisan and focused on subject matter areas important to all stakeholders.

“The opioid interim study approach has proven very beneficial,” says CMS Government Affairs Senior Director Susan Koontz, JD. “The forum provides the time for stakeholders and elected officials to take a much deeper dive into these complex issues without the pressure and rush of a legislative session.”

By invitation, CMS President Debra J. Parsons, MD, will testify at the first meeting on July 9. Remaining scheduled meetings are as follows: July 30, Aug. 13, Aug. 27, Sept. 24 and Oct. 29. Once again CMS will be an active participant, providing recommendations for policy solutions in addressing opioid and other substance use disorders in Colorado, and facilitating physician testimony on topics as needed. Read CMS's recommendations here, plus the January 2019 "spotlight" report featuring best practices and next steps in the opioid epidemic.

Any CMS member can contact the committee with recommendations by emailing individual committee members below or the staff to the committee at OpioidInterimComm.ga@state.co.us.

The committee is comprised of the following legislators:

Sen. Brittany Pettersen, Chair (D-Lakewood), brittany.pettersen.senate@state.co.us
Rep. Chris Kennedy, Vice Chair (D-Lakewood), chris.kennedy.house@state.co.us
Rep. Perry Buck (R-Greeley), perrybuck49@gmail.com
Rep. Bri Buentello (D-Pueblo), bri.buentello.house@state.co.us
Rep. Leslie Herod (D-Denver), leslie.herod.house@state.co.us
Sen. Dominick Moreno (D-Commerce City), dominick.moreno.senate@state.co.us
Sen. Kevin Priola (R-Commerce City), kpriola@gmail.com
Sen. Jack Tate (R-Centennial), jack.tate.senate@state.co.us
Rep. James Wilson (R-Salida), representativewilson@gmail.com
Sen. Faith Winter (D-Westminster), faith.winter.senate@state.co.us

Get involved in effort to reduce the public health crisis of opioids by volunteering on the CMS Committee on Prescription Drug Abuse, or joining a workgroup of the Colorado Consortium for Prescription Drug Abuse Prevention. Contact CMS for more information; email amy_goodman@cms.org.


Categories: Communications, ASAP, Resources, Initiatives, Prescription Drug Abuse