What Colorado health care providers need to know for 2020 and beyond

The COVID-19 pandemic brought about a number of changes at both the federal and state levels related to paid leave for employees. To help Colorado physicians navigate the changes, the Colorado Medical Society produced a primer that provides a general overview of the new paid sick leave landscape for Colorado health care workers.

In short, there are three types of paid sick leave.

COVID-19 sick leave

  • Effective: 2020 (through Dec. 31, 2020)
  • Laws: The federal FFCRA's EPSLA as broadened by the Colordao HFWA
  • Applicability: The federal law excludes "health care providers" (defined very broadly), but the Colorado HFWA broadens the applicability of the EPSLA and essentially makes it apply to all Colorado employers and employees.
  • Leave: 80 hours

Sick leave for future public health emergencies

  • Effective: 2021 and beyond
  • Laws: The Colordao HFWA
  • Applicability: All Colorado employers
  • Leave: 80 hours

Regular sick leave

  • Effective: 2021 and beyond
  • Laws: The Colordao HFWA
  • Applicability: In 2021, only Colorado employers with 16 or more employees. Starting in 2022, all Colorado employers.
  • Leave: Employees can accrue 48 hours per year.

Access the full primer here.

Categories: Communications, ASAP, Resources, COVID, Practice Management